When an accident happens, it’s natural to ask yourself what you can do. Fortunately for those involved in a Maryland car accident, there are steps that can be taken. Injured parties have the option of pursuing settlement negotiations or filing suit with a court in pursuit of the fair and reasonable compensation they deserve.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
In Maryland, all automobile insurance policies are required to contain Personal Injury Protection coverage. This type of insurance coverage is also known as “no-fault” insurance coverage and is provided for medical payments for injuries sustained in an automobile collision. This type of insurance has a limit of $2,500.
As a result of the Personal Injury Protection coverage, injured parties may be able to recover their reasonable medical costs, no matter who was at fault in the accident. If the injured person’s medical expenses exceed $2,500, they may pursue a claim against the responsible party’s insurance company to recover the remaining costs.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage
An uninsured motorist coverage typically works in conjunction with your liability coverage. If you’re involved in a collision with an uninsured driver or a hit-and-run driver, this insurance will cover you for your injuries and damages.
On the other hand, an underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) is when an at-fault driver has less than adequate coverage, then you may be eligible to recover the difference between their liability limits and the limits of your UIM policy.
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run auto accident, you may be able to recover expenses under the hit-and-run policy coverage. In Maryland, automobile insurance policies are required to carry hit-and-run coverage. This type of coverage will allow you to recover your medical expenses and other losses up to a specified limit.
If the victim of a hit-and-run accident is uninsured, they can seek money damages from their UM coverage. On the other hand, if they have no insurance, they can claim recovery from the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund by filing a UCJ claim in court. Despite the name of these cases, the cap on out-of-pocket costs has recently been removed, and victims are now able to recover up to $30,000 for personal injuries.
Accident victims in the United States have a limited amount of time to file claims with the insurance company and must therefore work quickly. They must provide written notice to the insurance company within 6 months from the day of the accident, which generally gives detailed instructions on what sort of information is needed. For example, the insurance company might request a description of the accident, medical records and bills, evidence of property damage, and other information. The information’s purpose is to determine what compensation, if any, is due to the victim.
Whether you’re reeling from the shock of a traumatic auto accident or considering how you might make the most of legal action, there is plenty to learn about Maryland’s car accident law. By learning as much as you can ahead of time, you can keep your mind focused on recovering and spend less time worrying about how best to handle the situation.
Zukerberg & Halperin is one of the top-rated personal injury lawyers in Washington DC, Maryland, and Virginia. Call us for a free consultation today!